lydamorehouse: (Default)
 2025 Hands Off Protest at St. Paul
Image: 2025 "Hands Off" protest at the Saint Paul capitol, two signs visible one reading "Dump DOGE" and another that reads "No Compromise with Facists." 


We had a very bright (if windy) day on Saturday for the HANDS OFF protest here in Saint Paul. Everything kicked off at noon, and I initially thought I could get to the capitol building by light rail, as there is a station a block and a half from my house. I only walked as far as the Wendy's parking lot because I could see a MASSIVE crowd of people waiting to get on. My heart started to swell a little because this was very reminscient of the Women's March in 2016 when we managed to get a crowd of 90,000-100,00 people.


Two dinosaurs with signs that say "Hands Off Climate Science! Denial is Exinction."
Image: Two dinosaurs with signs that say "Hands Off Climate Science! Denial is Exinction."


So, I turned around and jumped into my car. I was not particularly hopeful that I could get anywhere near the capitol, but I remembered a couple of secret side streets that had offered up parking spaces in 2016 and so I decided to take a risk. I went down a street in town that is also a bus route and I watched tons of protestors piling on (I could tell them by their placards!) to the bus at each stop along the route. It wasn't long until the bus had clearly filled to capacity, as they skipped a major intersection and just plowed on without stopping. 

I pulled my car over at the bus stop, hit the flashers, and shouted, "Anyone going to the protest? I can take three!" 


Four protestors all dressed for success in matching outfits that read "Hands Off!" and "Trump" (crossed out) "Not my President."
Image: Four protestors all dressed for success in matching outfits that read "Hands Off!" and "Trump" (crossed out) "Not my President."


Three women of a certain age all came over and hopped in. They were all from Minneapolis and had parked in a spot where they'd hoped to be able to catch a bus further in. I ended up dropping them off at Dale Street because they didn't want to scout the neighborhood for a parking space, which was fair. Although, had they stuck with me they would have gotten a pretty prime spot. I ended up just off John Ireland Boulevard (for out of towners, this is the broad avenue that leads directly to the capitol building) near Saint Paul College. (Again for those not from around here, this is a LONG walk, but actually shockingly close, given the crowd size.)


A sense of the crowd. Visible signs read: "They're eating the Checks; They're eating the Balances."
Image: A sense of the crowd. Visible signs read: "They're eating the Checks; They're eating the Balances." 

I could tell as I walked towards the capitol with a stream of other people that we had not made the numbers of the previous protest. The last I heard, our official count was 25,000 (which seems a little low to me. I had estimated 100,000 in 2016 and I'd been damn close. This honestly felt like 40,000 to me?)   Regardless, there weren't nearly as many people this time around. I suspect that the real reason isn't any kind of political apathy, rather the fact that for whatever reason there were multiple protests scheduled in dozens of other nearby places and towns. A couple of my friends when to a second protest in Saint Paul, in a different neighborhood!


A sign painted in the bisexual flag colors that reads "If Kamala were in Office, We'd be at Brunch Right Now."
Image: A sign painted in the bisexual flag colors that reads "If Kamala were in Office, We'd be at Brunch Right Now."

I didn't end up staying all that long on Saturday. The protest had a number of speakers, but the capitol steps have very strange accustics. It's very difficult to hear what anyone is saying unless  you are directly lined up with the stairs. Like, I could hear the speeches as I walked down John Ireland, clear as a bell. Ironically, I could hear nothing when I was on the capitol grounds just slightly to the east of the stairs. It's so strange. But, this has happened at other events. 


Sign that reads "Current Threat Level: Orange" with an arrow that points to an orange silhouette of Trump.
Image: Sign that reads "Current Threat Level: Orange" with an arrow that points to an orange silhouette of Trump.

I felt very heartened to be among so many like-minded folks, but it was an oddly lonely experience for me, too. I'd planned to meet up with a couple of friends, but we never managed to connect. Cell phone service was really spotty once we were near the capitol grounds and so I missed a bunch of "Hey, we're still waiting for you at the place!" messages. Instead, I ended up wandering around taking pictures of clever signs. (As a note for those worried: I asked permission for every photo--except the crowd ones--but I worked very hard to only choose shots for social media and this blog that did not show people's faces. Or, if their faces were visible, I picked ones where people were clearly wearing hats, sunglasses, or otherwise obscuring themselves somewhat.)


Very Good Dogs with signs that say "Dogs Against DOGE."
Image: Very Good Dogs with signs that say "Dogs Against DOGE."


Probably the most exciting thing that I witnessed was the forced march pushing the counterprotestors out of the capitol area. A group of people fully surrounded the MAGA folks and bravely marched forward, pushing them backwards all the way out to University Avenue. It was... I mean, it honestly brought a proud, happy tear to my eye. There were so, so many more of us. And they were unable to stand their ground against a sea of humanity. 

May this be a metaphor for what we can do collectively!


Sign that says, "Does this ASS" (picture of Trump in his grampa pants) "Make my Country Look Small?"
Image: Sign that says, "Does this ASS" (picture of Trump in his grampa pants) "Make my Country Look Small?"
lydamorehouse: (Default)
image of a crowd at the capitol (MPR)
Image: NPR photo of the crowd  I was in at the capitol building. (Our furry friend is in this picture and I love them.)

The good news is that the Minnesota Public Radio news folks ran a great article about the protest.

If you need some cheering up, just open the article and LOOK at the crowd. Just spend some time admiring the three or four pictures that show just how many people turned up to say that you matter and that trans right are human rights.

Also? We won.

The measure was voted down (actually as expected.)  But, you know what? So what? There aren't going to be a lot of victories in these, the waning days of Babylon, so we might as well celebrate what we can. We won this one! This is one tiny, bright moment. Let us cherish it.

Besides, as I have noted elsewhere, that's not why people showed up. We all showed up because the world needs to know that for a whole fucking lot of us it's actually not okay to throw trans folks under the bus for some fully fictional "moderate" voter who would vote for Democrats if only they were more like the Nazis.  Someone needs to inform them that if we vote for them at all it's because they are NOT the Nazis (and they need to start acting more like they are in opposition to evil, ffs.)

So, that whole venture felt pretty good.

I am supposed to have read something for today and I'm here to inform you that I have utterly failed in this mission. I don't think I even cracked a book this week (NOT EVEN MANGA), that's how much it sucks to be an American right now. 

But, what about you? I love hearing what other people are reading. Did you read anything good? Anything awful? Anything 'meh'?

===

Update: I have no idea what day it is. I have another day to read all the things!! Hooray!
lydamorehouse: (shield)
 Sign saying (trans) Grils Just Wanna Have Fun
Image: Sign saying: (trans) Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

This morning, in my inbox, was a notification from "Women's March Minnesota" reminding me to generally be political. Among their various suggestions was a rally TODAY at the State Capitol at 2 pm to protest HF12, which is a piece of legislation aimed at trying to restrict trans women and girls from participating in sports in Minnesota. OutFront MN organized it to happen in front of the House Chambers as they were going into deliberation (we started at 2 pm, the legislature started their talks at 3:30 pm). I actually couldn't stay for very long as I had to pick Shawn up from work just down the street at the History Center. But I showed up and hung out as long as I could. It was delightful to watch people from all over show up, unfurl trans flags, rainbow flags, and nonbinary flags. 

At least one (obvious and fursuit wearing) person from the furry community showed up and I could not have been more pleased. I fucking LOVE Minnesotans.

There was an absolutely DISTURBING number of heavily armored, armed State Troopers at the Captiol, however. I presume they were there for us, because the folks protesting right before we were where homeless foster kids who were trying to save their program's funding and (sadly) there weren't nearly as many of thos folks.

At any rate, the police presence seemed like overkill. 

Still, for a Monday afternoon, I thought it was an amazing showing.  Here's a shot that gives you a small sense of the crowd. We filled the second floor of the rotunda and spilled down into the first floor. 


protestors at the capitol building for trans rights
Image: Doesn't look nearly as impressive as it was. Most of the signs say "Let Kids Play" (in trans flag colors)

I don't know what good it will do, but I do think the MN Legislature now knows we will turn out in force when they threaten trans folks. There was not a single MAGA hat in the crowd. Hopefully, soon, we will get our majority back (in Minnesota) and we can block crap like this from even being discussed.

But, until then, we FIGHT.
lydamorehouse: (shield)
 Many cold people in the snow.

MN Capitol steps covered in protestors

This photo of people crowding the Minnesota capitol steps (by my FB friend Sondra Mann)  still doesn't very accurately show the scale of the people who turned out last night. MoveOn.org suggested 500, but I think they counted early, because people were still streaming in as late as 5:30 pm.  Besides, those capitol steps are wide and two tiered. I would bet closer to 800-1,000, though I'm never great at guesstimating crowd-size.

I have a blurry picture that shows a much better sense of scale, which I took as I was leaving at 6 pm. They told us we could disperse after only an hour because they didn't have much in the way of "programming." (Several speakers spoke, which is, honestly, my least favorite part of protest gatherings. No one can hear them; most of them are not professional speakers and so are often rambling and boring.)  I wonder if they'd have let the protest grow naturally, how much we might have have in terms of turnout by say 7 pm or even 8 pm. I mean the protest only officially started at 5 pm!  That only gave people who might be running late a half-hour to catch the tail end of things!

Let's see, so a full recap.

I picked Shawn up early from work, because the three of us wanted to head out to Barnes & Noble to get Mason an AP Calculus booklet, which he's been agitating for. I guess he plans to take the AP Calculus test, even though he's technically NOT in AP Calculus, but CIS (College-in-School) Calculus. This is another one of those things that Mason decided _entirely_ on his own.  I have to say our laissez-faire/free range parenting seems to have really paid off with Mason. He is a better advocate for himself than we are. He's on the ground and seizes every opportunity and, even, in this case (and with his job at the Science Museum) hunts them down. So, I mean, kudos to him!

Since we were out there we stopped into Smash Burgers for dinner and discovered that the Har Mar Mall now not only has a ramen place (an Ichido) but also a new Hot Pot place. My Canadian introduced me to the joys of hot potting and now I need to convince my family of same! 

I got everyone home and grabbed my signage and extra layers of warm clothes and headed out around 4:15 pm. I left early because I wasn't sure about parking. I've parked in one of the public lots before and it's actually almost as far away from the capitol steps as the Minnesota Historical Society and I wanted to have time to get a spot, pay, put the ticket back in the car window, and hike the two and a half really LOOOOONG capitol lawn blocks up to the steps.

When I first arrived, I thought, "Oh, okay, it's going to be like this."

Minnesota Capitol with a smattering of protestors looking cold and lost

To be fair, I took this picture around 4:30 pm, maybe 4:45 pm. The protest hadn't even officially started.  And, as I was walking the long haul of the capitol lawn, I kept watching streams of people coming in with each light rail stop (approximately every ten minutes). So, I thought, okay, all right, we'll be a couple hundred, you know, the steps are big, they make us look small... it'll be fine.

Then more people kept coming.

I was really surprised because the Russian investigation is... weird. It's not an easy one-ticket kind of slogan-y protest. I mean, this sign will work at almost any rally:

well-done art project of a cut-out of a very orange baby POTUS with russian doll and sickle and hammer baby bottle

When I admired this sign and asked to take a picture of it, the woman said thank you and "Don't piss off the art teachers, am I right?" I was like, you are right!

My friend Shaz Stiteler caught me "in action" once the crowd started to swell.

Fat-butt Lyda doing her protest thang

Running into Shaz was funny if only because she is one of those people who I recognize on sight, BUT in different contexts. Like, I knew who she was when she said, "Hey, Lyda," but I turned to her and was like "??" because my brain was very "Is it CONvergence? Am I in Minneapolis??" I totally forgot that she's a park ranger and works here in the capitol city. So, she ended up giving me the, "Uh... it's me, Shaz." And I had to say, "Oh! Of course!" which made me seem like such a knuckle-dragger I'm sure.

Speaking of knuckle-draggers, we had one loan pro-Trump supporter standing in the back heckling us, holding a huge "Trump, Make America Great Again" flag and his red MAGA hat.  (Rev 13:16: "And they shall wear a mark upon upon their foreheads... bearing the name of the Beast.") As I was leaving, I walked past him and accidentally caught his eye and he said, "I'm on the right side of history." I'm sorry to admit that I legit burst out laughing. I mean, "You, sir, are the epitome of delusional." We were just shouting "Restore the Rule of Law".... how contorted does your brain have to be to believe that being IN OPPOSITION to the rule of law and justice for all is the "right side" of anything, much less HISTORY????

But, any time he tried to engage people in a more serious argument someone else passing would remind us with a shout, "Don't feed the trolls!" 

Because, it's NOT worth our time. If there was more than one of them? If he shouted racial slurs or transphobic remarks or other bullshit Nazi bigotry, YES. But, not if he's just muttering "But her emails."

Moron.

Anyway, that was my night. Even though I think they would have had a better crowd if they'd held out until 7 pm, my toes were happy they didn't. I came home in the driving snow flurries and hopped straight into a hot tub.  
lydamorehouse: (cap and flag)
 I have to admit that even *I'm* getting a little sick of these.

But, since Trump forced Sessions's resignation yesterday*, MoveOn.org has mobilized their rapid-response to Mueller firing protest. Here in St. Paul, we are gathering at the State Capitol at 5pm.  It's 25 F/ -3 C here, today, with windchills that feel much, much lower. Mason this morning said, "Why? Why do we always end up having to protest in sub-zero weather??" I dunno, son, I said. It's the price of democracy: cold toes.

protest sign that reads PROTECT MUELLER

The sign (this one reads: PROTECT MUELLER) looks shiny because of my many "protest hacks" I have learned in the last two years, is that covering your sign in strips of packing tape will keep the markers from smudging and running in inclement weather (we had a touch of snow, earlier.) 

I have to admit I struggled with pithy, clever things to say this time. Admittedly, I have been taking the advice of an early 'protest self-care' blog that suggested that you pick one or two causes and follow those deeply and let others pick up the slack on the zillion other distractions that our so-called president has been flinging at us, like poo.  So, I have been leaving the Mueller investigation/Russia probe to my more politically wonky friends.  Thus, sitting in my dinning room attempting to have short, memorable signage was surprisingly difficult. I finally broke down and went for longer text on the "back side" of another sign:

protest sign that reads: you think our blue wave was a bust? Maxine Waters will have the power of financial subpoena

This one reads: "You think our BLUE WAVE was a bust? Maxine Waters will have the power of Financial Subpoena." As I was looking up how to spell "subpoena," I kept thinking, "You try and spell that right, Trump supporters!"  

There are slogans on the flip sides of these as well. Another one of my "protest hacks" is that it's actually very useful to be visible from the BACK as well as the front. People can take your picture without worrying about getting your permission, if your face isn't visible. This is one way that I end up in a lot of protest albums. Not that THAT is a life goal, but it means that I don't have to take a protest selfie. I can just download the picture of me on the protest's website.

Wow, what is this going to read like five years from now? Is this going to be one of those "ha-ha, protest selfie! Gramma! Really?" or "THANK GOD YOU WERE ON THE FRONT LINES, GRANDMOTHER" moments?

Anyway, the flip side of the top one is this:

Protest sign reads: NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW

I am weirdly proud of my red-white-and-blue look here, even though I always feel like I'm some kind of kindergartener in comparison to some of the protest art that I will (HOPEFULLY) see tonight.

I have a very bad feeling that this is going to be a small crowd. I had a weird dream last night in which Mason and I brought a tent to this protest (and our computers for some reason--dream reason, I guess,) and when I stepped out to see if anyone had shown up, we filled the capitol lawn like we did at the Women's March. 

I've been thinking about the timing of this march (5 pm) and whether or not I should bring clip on lights to my protest signs. The sun is going to be setting, because: daylight savings. Hmmm, I will put my mind to that. I definitely should bring flashlights, though.  Currently, Mason will be joining me, but he may decide not to. To be fair to him, the last one of these he went with me to was for Net Neutrality and it was also SO COLD and there were, at MOST, 30 of us.

Which this could totally be.

protest sign: Look who IS Afraid of our BLUE WAVE

The sign reads: Look who _is_ afraid of our Blue Wave. (This is the flip-side of the Maxine Waters one.)  
 
--
*Good F*CKING riddance, jacka$$.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
123 4567
8910 11121314
1516171819 2021
222324252627 28
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 10:42 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios