lydamorehouse: (Default)
[personal profile] lydamorehouse
A lot of people make the case that in-person cons mean more.... everything, I guess? 

What's funny is that, for me, I probably participated more during Virtual WisCON than I did at this year's in-person CONvergence. I was on panels at neither, but I did go to some programming at both. I maybe hit nearly a half-dozen panels at Virtual WisCON? I went to ONE at CONvergence. Well, okay, one and a main stage performance. 

So, how did it all go?

The above might sound like a complaint, but it really isn't. I had a lovely time. I just didn't DO very much at con. I ended up meeting up with [personal profile] naomikritzer on the light rail (it goes right past the end of my block) and we made our way to the convention center. After getting our badges and discovering that CONvergence no longer requires proof of vaccination (though they did require masking in most places,) I followed Naomi to her first panel, "The Big I."

"The Big I" was a panel about using the first person... so, and no shade on Naomi or her fellow panelists, but not exactly a contentious or dynamic subject matter.  Nevertheless, I wanted to scream at one point. Actually, at several points. I had to sit on my hands. I had to distract myself on my phone because I had made a conscious decision not to derail the panel, for the sake of my dear friend. However, I nearly died when I heard panelists say things like, "Well, you could never tell the Murderbot stories in third person, because all you'd have are the actions," and "Of course, in third person you can't get into people's heads."

I'M SORRY, WHAT? 

I ended up writing a furious string of texts to my wife at home. Because someone needed to know that the panelists seemed to be confusing point of view (1st, 3rd) with narrative voice. FFS, you absolutely can "get into people's heads" in 3rd person, it's called close and/or limited 3rd person.  You don't have to do this (which is the fun flexibility of 3rd person), but you absolutely can use the main character's "voice" in 3rd to describe scenes or people. You are not required to write like a newspaper article. "He wore a tie." Instead, you can say, "The tie Frank wore was hideous. Bob hated it. It reminded him of his late father-in-law." Or whatever the fuck. You can use long, rambling sentences in third person to imply that's how the character thinks. You can use shorter sentences and chose words that sound militarist to imply, in 3rd person, that's how your character sees the world.  

It is, without a doubt, EASIER to do this sort of thing in 1st person, but it's not, by any stretch of the imagination, impossible in 3rd. (or 2nd for that matter.) 

I never went to another panel after that. 

This is why, in fact, I rarely sit and listen to panels. I have OPINONS. I feel feelings very strongly about things that really don't matter, like verbs, and narrative voice and whether or not the ending of Bleach sucked rocks (Spoiler: yes.)  I'm kind of argumentative? But, I'm totally sitting, very sincerely at that booth that also says, "I Believe a Thing: Change my mind," because one of my favorite things in life is a spirited debate. My mind can be changed! So, like, maybe I'm wrong about p.o.v. and narrative voice, but I'll tell you what. If I'd been on that panel it would have been hella exciting!

But, anyway, after that panel I don't entirely remember what else I did? I may have headed home because I'd sort of spontaneously decided to join Naomi and didn't have good plans for dinner. She'd offered to go somewhere with me, but I would have had to hang out quite a bit longer and I wasn't up for it. Not when I was feeling all my narrative voice FEELS.

I did go back on Friday evening, however. I ate dinner at home and then hopped the light rail again. I will tell you that taking the light rail always makes me feel so grown-up, like a grown-up who lives in a City. I'm also always fascinated to watch people living their lives and there are always a lot of characters on public transportation, you know. My friend Barth Anderson used to write-up some of the random conversations he'd had or overheard on the bus and I thought of him a lot as I listened to a guy very sincerely explain to his friend on the other side of the phone that you should never buy a Mercedes Benz; Always buy Honda. 

I discovered during the long walk down Nicolet Mall that there's a group of citizens who are patrolling as violence disruptors. I ended up accidentally pacing them on one of my walks to the convention hotel, but it was fascinating to overhear their conversations, as well. 

Once at the con on Friday, I texted Naomi and discovered she was still at dinner. I decided to head to watch Ms. Shannon Paul do her comedy routine on the main stage. I am generally fond of comedy shows, and no one else in my family really is? So, it was a treat to watch her, although I really noticed the extent to which certain types of comedy require the audience to buy into certain kinds of normativity, most of which, I simply don't experience/never have.  Like, I apparently fail, "would you eat a pie that appeared on your porch that none of your friends claim to have sent you?" (My answer: pie!)  Long story, but Ms. Shannon was trying out a bit and explained that a mystery pie had been delivered to her house and she threw it away without ever opening the box because "of course." But, she wanted to know who in the audience would have tried the pie and which of us wanted to know what kind of pie it was. I wanted to know, and I wanted to try it. I am apparently a freak of nature. Not a lot of people agreed with me.  I will say that for the rest of her routine, I found myself thinking about whether or not the scenarios she presented were things I would do or not and it kind of changed the humor for me? Like I say above, I noticed the ways in which much of the humor required buy-in to a "normal," because for things to be funny they had to fall outside of it, you know?

Anyway.

Naomi and I ended up attempting to make a "bar con" at the CONvergence hotel by hanging out in the lobby. It worked? It took some time to gather some friends, but we did at least run into some folks I'd been hoping to see. This is a perennial problem for me at this "new" hotel because I just haven't figured out where people go. The conference rooms also go up in a central column, rather than being spread out flat, so there isn't as much "passing people in the halls" because people are going up and down different sets of escalators? 

The dealer's room was also surprisingly sparse. The main audience they seemed to be catering to was RPG gamers, which includes me, but like almost every booth seemed to have sets of dice for sale? Given that the con's focus this year was cosplay, I was a bit surprised to see ZERO clothiers in the dealer's room--no kimono, corset, boot, or steampunk hat/goggle makers/sellers.  It was kind of weird? There was one bookseller, though they didn't have a large selection (it was not Dreamhaven or Uncles.) I dunno. I did have some luck finding fun things to buy in artist's alley, however.

The con, of course, went on for two more days, but I didn't.

I still had fun? But, it was very low participation for me this year.  

Date: 2023-07-11 02:40 am (UTC)
radiantfracture: Beadwork bunny head (Default)
From: [personal profile] radiantfracture

"Well, you could never tell the Murderbot stories in third person, because all you'd have are the actions," and "Of course, in third person you can't get into people's heads."

That's bewildering. Jane Austen (he said indignantly) used free indirect discourse in the late 1790s and it has been available, free of copyright, ever since.

Date: 2023-07-11 04:53 am (UTC)
pameladean: (Default)
From: [personal profile] pameladean
WHAT! Do they write? Do they READ? Who could SAY THAT with a straight face?

Oh, I'd have had to leave the room. I mean. A common so-called flaw in omniscient third-person is or used to be referred to as "head-hopping." Not only getting into people's heads, but doing it egregiously with no discipline. It's not hard, it's irresistible!

P.

Date: 2023-07-11 10:09 pm (UTC)
pameladean: (Default)
From: [personal profile] pameladean
Oh yes, there's another contentious panel just waiting to happen.

THERE IS ALWAYS A NARRATOR. ALWAYS.

Sorry, I seem to have Feelings too.

P.

Date: 2023-07-11 07:58 am (UTC)
mtbc: photograph of me (Default)
From: [personal profile] mtbc
Yeah, the first/third-person claim is absurd. Sorry you didn't find a panel more worth hearing.

And, yeah, free pie. I might first have a small experimental slice but I'd fancy my odds.

Date: 2023-07-12 12:20 pm (UTC)
mtbc: photograph of me (Default)
From: [personal profile] mtbc
True enough, glad you have a silver lining from panels turning out to be such!

Date: 2023-07-11 11:45 am (UTC)
sabotabby: (jetpack)
From: [personal profile] sabotabby
What the actual fuuuuuuc?

I would have lost my shit at that assertion. I'm not very polite.

There's definitely things that you can reveal and conceal in first that are more difficult in third (say, if you want a nameless or gender-ambiguous character) but getting into characters heads is not one of them.

I've heard CONvergence was meh this year from other folks.

Date: 2023-07-11 03:47 pm (UTC)
dreamshark: (Default)
From: [personal profile] dreamshark
I share your bafflement at the comments you report from the panel on first person writing. WTF? Certainly the majority of fiction that I have read EVER was 3rd-person, and of COURSE it includes character's thoughts and internal dialogue! IMHO, writing that consists entirely of dialogue and descriptions of action constitutes a screenplay, not a story. I have read books where the last few chapters read like a series of Exciting Climactic Movie Scenes, which I suspected was the author blatantly angling for a movie contract. But that's just bad writing.

One could argue that the entire POINT of in-person cons is to do "nothing" except hang around with friends, and potentially make new ones. Not to mention serendipitous experiences with Outside (e.g., your encounter with the downtown "violence disrupters.") Sounds like you had a fine con.
Edited (hit return too soon) Date: 2023-07-11 03:53 pm (UTC)

Date: 2023-07-11 07:15 pm (UTC)
replyhazy: (Default)
From: [personal profile] replyhazy
Figuring out "where the people are" at a new con (or new con hotel) is always puzzling to me. When I've checked the bar and the comfy lobby chairs and there isn't a consuite sort of place, then I feel very discouraged. I'm in no shape to comb a hotel for an elusive party room.

Your reaction at the panel makes me think of a Wiscon panel I was at years ago. The panel was to discuss consolation literature in the SF genre. Only problem: the panelists had NO EXAMPLES of such SF and rejected suggestions from the audience as "oh, but that's YA" and "no, that's really fantasy". It was MAJORLY frustrating.

Date: 2023-07-12 04:19 am (UTC)
abracanabra: (Default)
From: [personal profile] abracanabra
I was interested in the 1st Person panel but didn't attend because I was "avec les enfants." However, your opinions are correct and that is some bullshit.

I greatly enjoyed a Historical Undergarments panel. Would attend any panel the panelists chose to do in the future.

I am also on team "Eat the Pie!" (but only one member of the family should, until a sufficient amount of time has passed to determine any negative effects--I might have to arm wrestle my spouse for the honor).

March 2026

S M T W T F S
123 4567
8910 11121314
1516171819 2021
222324252627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:27 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios