Nov. 23rd, 2021

lydamorehouse: (Default)
 This morning as I was headed into my coffee shop, I passed by a guy who was clearly homeless. I always try to be kind, so I looked him in the eye and said, "Good morning." He looked at me and said, "Fuck you and your money."  I had two seconds of 'money? Who, me?' but you don't argue with a guy who slept rough last night in 18 F/-7 C. So, I just nodded and said, "Yeah. okay."

Weirdly, that guy has me thinking about all the things I have that I take for granted. Of course I don't THINK of myself as "rich," I bet no one does, not even gross gazillionairs like Jeff Bezos. But, I slept inside last night--in a house I am working on owning (I still have a mortgage, but we are making the payments.) I have a car (two of them right now) that I can afford to insure, gas up, and in the case of one, pay to store in a garage. I'm about to get into one of those cars and drive off to the grocery store and buy everything I want for Thanksgiving, without having to think too much about how much everything will cost.  Hell, we've started buying Christmas presents and the only budget we're setting is an upper limit so that the other person doesn't feel like they spent too much..

I am rich.

I am actually very rich.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
123 4567
8910 11121314
1516171819 2021
222324252627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 10:44 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios